Ray scuba diving canary islands la palma el hierro gran canaria tenerife lanzarote fuerteventura gomera dive canaries atlantic ocean

Diving Canary Islands

Scuba Diving on the Canary Islands inspires many divers every year. Apart from the diversified dive sites with caves, wrecks and colourful volcanic reefs, the biodiversity is to be considered for the canaries. Also worth mentioning are the good infrastructure, short flight times, mainly sunny weather and not least political stability.

Scuba Diving on the Canary Islands can be a highlight for everyone. Whether family, diving club, couples or solo travelers, “the islands of eternal spring” have much to offer both over and under water. More than 100 dive centres organize daily excursions to many hundred dive sites. Besides, there are more than 700 marine species to discover. From rays to morays, cephalopods, crabs and groupers to angel sharks, turtles and rare mantas. Everything is possible in the Atlantic. In the fish directory you will find an overview of the species you can observe while scuba diving on the Canary Islands.

As the water temperature does not drop below 17 ° C, the Canary Islands are a year-round destination. In my opinion a holiday with colder water in spring is even more worthy, because you can observe more rays, snails and juvenile fishes. Incidentally, the water temperature in the late summer rises to 25 ° C.
In conclusion I can say that there are many good reasons for diving holidays in the canaries.

La Palma

No, not Las Palmas (Gran Canaria) or Palma de Mallorca but LA PALMA! The north-west of the Canary Islands is hardly known to anybody and that is good. Relaxed, natural holiday is guaranteed here! The small islet in the Atlantic is especially known to hikers. Divers, mountain bikers and anyone who appreciates the gentle tourism comes as well at its expense.

La Palma diving canary islands canaries atlantic ocean

Diving La Palma

Hiking La Palma

Activities and Points of Interest



The Canary Islands

The Canary Islands are very similar because of their same origin. Only human intervention has made them different.From moonlike landscape to rainforest all intermediate stages are present. Each of the seven main islands is a jewel and has its own charm.
Politically, the Canary Islands belong to Spain and thus to Europe. However, they are one of 17 autonomous regions that includes two provinces. On the one hand there is the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife. These include the islands of Tenerife, La Palma, La Gomera and El Hierro. On the other hand is the province of Las Palmas, which includes the islands of Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. Due to its status as an autonomous region, the Canary Islands can be enjoyed for tax advantages resulting in cheaper restaurant visits, tobacco and alcohol. Apart from this, life expectancy costs are generally lower.